top of page

A Peek at Harry Potter - The Philosophers Stone: Part 3

Updated: Nov 20, 2021

Hello and welcome back to Eckheart! It's Lilliana here with Part 3 of my HP Reaction series! I've realised how much I've been leaving this series, but, for the next few weeks, I promise to catch up on all my fandoms that I may or may not have left! That aside, let's start with the post!


Summary

Let's start where we last left off! When Harry was staring into the Mirror of Erised, he see's not only his parents alive but his whole family! He has a peculiar conversation with Albus Dumbledore, Headmaster of Hogwarts, who reveals that the Mirror of Erised can show one's wish hidden in their heart of hearts!


When Christmas was over, the Golden Trio (Harry, Ron & Hermione) start to find out more about the questionable events this year, including the Gringotts Bank break-in and the three-headed dog so out of place in their school. The three learn that the three-headed dog is currently guarding the Sorcerer's Stone which belonged to Nicholas Flamel, Headmaster Dumbledore's old partner.


Not so long after, Hagrid won a poker game and was given a dragon egg as a prize! Unfortunately, it is illegal to own one so the trio arrange something to get rid of it by contacting Ron's older brother, Charlie Weasley, who is well-read in the study of dragons. This plan fails when the they were caught in the act.


Harry, Ron and Hermione were punished mercilessly with 150 points from Gryffindor and sentenced to enter the Enchanted Forest to investigate the recent murder of unicorns. Once in the forest, Harry stumbles upon a man drinking unicorn blood. The man tried to attack Harry but Harry was kindly saved by a friendly centaur who believes that the man was Voldemort. Because of this, Harry learns that it was Voldemort who has been vying to get his hands on the Sorcerer's Stone.


Reaction

During this time of the book, I was learning so much more about Hogwarts and Harry! The plot was so unexpected. When Harry stared into the Mirror of Erised, I half expected him to start chanting something! (The villainess in 'Snow White and the Seven Dwarves' left a lasting impression!) I cried a bit when Harry saw what his family could've been and it actually left me feeling down for quite some time. James and Lilly would've made a wonderful Father and Mother!


Headmaster Dumbledore's sudden appearance also scared me a bit, but it was quite pleasant to change the sad atmosphere. Christmas was also a wonderful way to lift my spirits! Hogwarts must've looked gorgeous in it's festive décor! Oh, I'd love to be a witch and go to Hogwarts just to see the wonderful interiors!


When Nicholas Flammel was brought up, I was a bit suspicious, especially when Harry, Ron and Hermione revealed that he was Dumbledore's old partner. What happened to him? Is he on Harry's side? What did he do? Where is he now? I was impatient to know more, but with the trio's adventures happening every so often, I wasn't left with much time to ponder about it, sadly.


I was also looking forward to Hagrid's adopted dragon to spend too much time on Nicholas Flammel! Just imagine how cute it would be once it hatched! It'd be a dream come true! I was quite upset when Hagrid couldn't keep it! But it was nothing compared to the terror I felt when the trio get caught trying to get rid of the dragon! I also understand that the trio were disobeying rules but one hundred and fifty points from Gryffindor?! That was harsh enough not to mention the trip to the enchanted forest! At night!


Another one of the things I was least expecting in the series was to see a man drinking unicorn blood! Not only was it bloody and terrifying, but the poor unicorn! It was so innocent and was doing no harm! Why kill the magical creature just for power! I was also extremely thankful when Harry didn't die, but my relief was soon taken over by fear and anger when the Centaur revealed that the man was Voldemort.


Voldemort?! The same wizard who killed Harry's family?! The man that terrorized the wizarding world and enslaved and massacred millions?! At this point, I was so ready for Harry and Voldemort to duel so that Harry can show him all the horrible things Voldemort had done and force him to repent! He'd be lucky if most people would forgive him at all!

Thankyou for reading Part 3 of my Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone Reaction series! If you have any tips, comments or opinions you'd like to share, please feel free to add it in my comment section below! If you've seen my HP House Outfit Designs, you'd probably know that I'm a Hufferin! (A hybrid house because all the houses are amazing and I can't choose one!) I'd love to know yours!


-Lot's of Love

Lilly <3



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page