top of page

The Daughter of Darkness - Fanfic: Chapter 4

Hello to all of my amazing readers! Today, I'm exhilarated to present to you the first official blog post of 2022! It sounds so unreal to say that . . . can you believe that 2021 is over already? Anyways, I just want to apologise if the follow chapter doesn't add up to real Greek mythology😅. I may or may not have gotten a bit too imaginative and added too much of my own fantasy into this fic . . . but hey! Celestria deserves to feel like a goddess for a while, even if it is only for a while, just like we all should! I hope you enjoy!

Chapter 4: A Goddess's Claiming


A figure emerged from the ground beneath the nocturnal animals. The animals squeaked and kow-towed to the creature before them. My eyes widened and I clasped my hands to stop them from shaking.


Miniature storms of black and violet surrounded her. Her ink black hair that flowed around her face could’ve been mistaken for a veil. Her glowing eyes were hidden behind her locks. The woman was barefoot in a luxurious violet gown that dragged across the floor beneath her. And in her hand was possibly one of the most powerful object in the universe: a blue light surrounded by rings.


Fearfully, I looked up at her, even knowing barely anything about her, I knew this woman had incredible power, far beyond my own. If she was to attack us, I wouldn’t be able to save my parents. I stepped in front of my parents, trying in vain to protect them.


My, how sweet”, the figure finally spoke. Her voice had the power of a thousand stars and the tranquillity of moonlight, but above all, was as melodical as night itself. Just like how it was described in history books.


To think that someone as vile as Erebus could have borne such a lovely child. In this scenario, he’d spare no moment to annihilate the world, much less kill these people who claim to be your parents. The thought of protecting them would have never crossed his mind”, the woman said. Although she was smiling, I could see the storms beside her darken.


I clenched my fist, drawing enough courage to speak to her, “W-who are you?”, I said. It was hardly as brave as I played it out in my head . . . but that wasn’t the point right now! The woman walked slowly toward me and I flicked my hand behind my back to secretly summon the power of darkness.


I almost gasped when I realised I had no control over my power at all! C-could this be . . . because of her?!


I took a deep breath, diving deeper into the possibility of that idea, th-then, that w-would mean that she must be . . .


Nyx!


How was she described? The Personification of Night. One of the very first beings to have ever existed; a primordial. The Goddess that created darkness itself and overtook the world with it with her brother!

And that would also mean . . . that this powerful being in front of me . . . is my Mother.


I choked on my tears, remembering what my parents told me before.


“Celestria . . . you are a goddess. The youngest daughter of the weakened Erebus and Nyx. Your place is with the other powerful creators of this world”.


The words echoed in my mind. But somehow, miraculously, when my birth Mother stepped in front of me, I felt my mind go blank and my heart numb. I heard a sharp gasp behind me and turned to see my mortal parents frozen in time. My eyes widened and I turned to face Nyx.


It’s a shame that you didn’t recognise your own mother, Celestria. But it seems as though you’ve already realised this, I expect nothing less from you”, the goddess said and I could see the corners of her lips perk up.


I narrowed my eyes at her, stopping the tears that pooled at the corner of my eyes from falling. “If you truly are my real mother, then what do you want with me?! I’ve been living obediently this whole time, I haven’t caused any ruckus! I’ve made no mess nor trouble for you! So why did you have to appear?! Why here?! Why now?!”, I screamed.


You see my daughter. . . just by living you have created things for this world”, she replied bluntly.


A tear dropped and I fell to my knees before her. I stared at my hands, “Just by living . . . I’ve created trouble?”


Nyx nodded, “Did you think a natural born goddess could live peacefully as a mortal? I’ve done what I could to preserve your present life but it’s time for you, Celestria, to return home”.


“And what would that mean?”, I asked, gaze not moving from my hands, “To live as you would like . . . what would that imply?”.


A smart one, you realise things quickly. To live as I want you to would mean to start anew. You’ll leave this current life of yours and follow me to a place where your powers can flourish. And that would include . . . leaving all you’ve built up until now”.


I froze, my hands dropping to the floor beside me as I hunched my back and clenched my eyes shut, “So these connections I’ve made . . . my friends, my family, my lover . . . to you . . . is merely a distraction? Are these precious people nothing but obstacles to you?!”


Quite right. I’ll erase their memories of you and they’ll never remember who you are. Even if you come running back here, there’s nothing to run to. Your family and friends will not recognise you so it’s best you accept the truth”.


And if I refuse?!”, I demanded. Be quiet! Enough! Stop talking! Please! Please . . . Be quiet!, my mind screamed at the woman before me.


Then you’ll do nothing but create problems for all the innocent mortals living here. You see, Celestria, the only reason you’ve been able to live normally for this long was because of me. As my youngest daughter, you’re an easy target for my family’s wrath. If they defeat you, they can obtain your power and reign more powerful than before.


I’ve stopped the monster attacks from hurting you for all these years. But it’s tiresome and with the coming of a war my sister has planned, the attacks have been more frequent and difficult. You have no choice.”, she explained.


I winced, if Nyx, a primordial, finds fending the monsters off as a difficult task then I stand no chance. My mother’s right . . . the people aren’t safe if I’m here.


But, at the same time. I didn’t want to. I love my family! I love my friends! I wanted to build my life here! Everything I’ve ever dreamed of was just a step away . . . but now it’s a world away! I loved EVERYTHING about this place! It was always my home!


But if you don’t leave, what will be left of your home?, a voice appeared in my mind, nothing.


I cupped my hands over my mouth, sobbing under Nyx’s figure before me.


Your assistance is priceless to this planet, Celestria. Whoever you choose to offer your help to would be able to gain the world”, Nyx spoke over my tears.


That much power? No wonder monsters would be sent after me. I slowly lowered my hands and clenched my fist. If I want to protect this place that I adore, I must strengthen myself.


I hardened my heart with devotion and I made a promise to myself to fight back. Whoever dares to hurt my homeland would pay.


I gradually looked up at my mother, my eyes and cheeks flushed from crying. But at that time as I looked at my mother, my reflection was seen through the diamonds in her gown and I had never seen my eyes sparkle as much as it did then.


It seems like you’ve accepted the truth. It’s time then”, Nyx visibly smiled this time.


The goddess brought the miniature blue planet before her and concentrated her power into it. The blue device glowed like a beating heart brighter and brighter until it exploded in darkness. And through that darkness, a figure completely different yet the same walked through. The goddess walked through, her black hair in an elegant updo and violet eyes vivid against her snow-like skin. She wore a luxurious, embellished gown that was lined with gold, feathers and lace. Luminous blue stardust that came from the blue planet floated around Nyx before gathering together in her hands to form a sceptre.


I looked around us and saw that we were no longer at my house at Edgewater.


The place that I was currently at was a dark shade of purple. There were silver outlines of pillars, fountains and statues. The silver outline of the ceiling was cracked and missing in some places but you could see the drawings of ancient Greek creatures. Under the place I kneeled was a transparent circular platform with etchings of what looked like witchcraft marks


Suddenly a bright beam of yellow appeared at the corner and ripples of orange, red and pink faded almost naturally into the violet. With her sceptre, Nyx conjured a tiara of obsidian and amethyst.


I, Nyx, daughter of Chaos of which all creation has come from, bring forth the child born of Erebus and I, Celestria. With my blessing, I claim this child as my own and may all the lands recognise her as my daughter. Father, Chaos, this child I present to you is your granddaughter . . . The Goddess of Twilight!”, Nyx spoke powerfully.


Even though we were far from any other living being here, I had a feeling that this announcement sent shockwaves all across the cosmos.


Nyx slowly lowered the tiara on my ink-black hair and the circular platform under us dissipated. But there was no fear, I felt a new surge of power go through me. I floated beside my mother and felt the tiara on my head grow into a full circle crown. When the headpiece completed it’s transformation a silver beam of light flowed down my body replacing my plain attire into an ombre gown of violet and purple and dressing my feet into a pair of bejewelled butterfly heels.


My mother nodded at the outfit, “It seems the Tiara of Truth has finally taken a liking to its owner. I created this relic to reflect the personality of its owner. compassion, wisdom and elegance . . . it’s a good combination”, she smiled at me. With a swish of her hand, holographic stairs lead up to where we stood.


Holograms of people with the same silver outline appeared on the floor before us. Monarchs, demigods and even a few minor gods smiled at me before kow-towing. ‘Glory to the new goddess!’ They cheered.


I looked at the sea of people, many of which I hadn’t even known existed. I clenched my hand to my chest, nervous.


The goddess offered her hand to me, and though I was still shocked by what happened, I took it gratefully.


But the second I placed my hand in hers, I had known she used teleportation magic and before I knew it, everything disappeared.



Conclusion & Claimer

All done! I'm so glad I was able to finish this chapter! If not, a certain reader may have verbally attacked me on the first day of school, but I managed to spare myself from that fate 😥😊. Anyways, I was also able to keep my promise from the last update, her claiming did come soon! And I'm so so sorry if this chapter didn't make sense, my fantasy conscious kicked in after being a full-time fangirl this month (that includes 1460 hours of ready fanfiction), which might be a little unhealthy.


Tysm to all those Goddesses and Gods (and everything in between) who read the fourth chapter of 'The Daughter of Darkness'! That means so much to me🥰! As always everything mentioned in this fanfic is based off my imagination and any similar occurrence in real life is pure coincidence. I hope you enjoyed this chapter!


- Lot's of Love,

Lilliana <3

30 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page